Follow us on Twitter     and Facebook       Sign up for Email Updates:

TSU’s Strong headlines 2012-13 Preseason All-SWAC Selections

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.- The Southwestern Athletic Conference has announced its Preseason honors for the upcoming basketball season. The Texas Southern University men’s basketball team was picked to finish fourth overall in league regular season competition.

Last season TSU compiled a 15-18 overall regular season record last year including a 12-6 mark in Southwestern Athletic Conference play. The Tigers advanced to the SWAC Tournament Championship game where they lost a highly contest decision to Mississippi Valley State 71-69.

This season Texas Southern will return several key players headlined by Preseason All-SWAC First Team selections Omar Strong and Fred Sturdivant. In addition to being named to the All-SWAC First Team, Strong was also tabbed the SWAC’s Preseason Player of the Year.

In 2011-12 the Tigers dynamic duo anchored TSU’s one-two scoring punch tallying 13.3 and 9.1 points per game respectively. The two players started every game for the Tigers combining to average nearly 54 minutes per contest. With the return of Strong and Sturdivant as well as the addition of coach Mike Davis Texas Southern should be geared for success as they get set to open the 2012-13 campaign.

TSU will start its season on the road against Boise State (Nov. 11) followed by a quick turnaround game versus Northwestern on November 13th. The Tigers are slated to host their first home game of the season on November 16th as they welcome Louisiana-Lafayette to the Health and Physical Education Arena.

The new era of Texas Southern University men’s basketball will begin this week as the TSU Athletics Department in conjunction with Student Activities will host “Midnight Madness” on Friday, October 19, in the H&PE Arena located on the campus of TSU. Doors will open at 9:30 pm and complimentary admission will be granted to all attendees of the event.

2012-13 SWAC Men’s Basketball Preseason All-Conference

Predicted Order of Finish
1 Prairie View
2 Southern
3 Jackson State
4 Texas Southern
5 Alabama A&M
6 Alabama State
7 Arkansas-Pine Bluff
8 Alcorn State
9 Grambling State
10 Mississippi Valley State

Preseason All-SWAC First Team
Guards Omar Strong- Texas Southern
Kelsey Howard- Jackson State

Forwards Fred Sturdivant- Texas Southern
Demarquelle Tabb- Alabama A&M

Center Daniel Broughton- Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Defensive Player of the Year
Demarquelle Tabb- Alabama A&M

Player of the Year
Omar Strong- Texas Southern

This entry was posted in News Room. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.