Follow us on Twitter     and Facebook       Sign up for Email Updates:

Perez begins duties as Chairman of HCC Board of Trustees

HOUSTON (January, 2012) – Houston Community College held a swearing in ceremony for the members of the HCC Board of Trustees Thursday, January 19, including newly elected Board Chairman Mary Ann Perez . The Board also elected Trustee Bruce A. Austin, District II, and Trustee Neeta Sane, District VII, to serve as Vice Chairman and Secretary, respectfully.

Voters elected Perez to the HCC Board of Trustees in 2009 and she served as Board Vice Chair in 2011. Perez is a graduate of HCC and while working and raising two young boys, she continued her education at the University of Houston and graduated Cum Laude with a degree in Business Administration.

Perez, Austin and Sane, as well as Yolanda Navarro Flores, District I; Eva Loredo, District VIII; Sandie Mullins, District VI; re-elected members Christopher W. Oliver, District IX and Richard M. Schechter, District V; and new board member Carroll Robinson, District IV, were sworn in Thursday.

About HCC
HCC is one of the country’s largest singly-accredited, open-admission, community colleges offering associate degrees, certificates, workforce training and lifelong learning opportunities for 75,000 students each semester. HCC is composed of six colleges that serve the Greater Houston Area’s diverse communities by preparing individuals to live and work in today’s increasingly international and technological society.

To learn more go to

Photos: Mary Ann Perez, District III, HCC Board Chairman

This entry was posted in News Room. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.