Follow us on Twitter     and Facebook       Sign up for Email Updates:

Kolkhorst, Leibowitz to receive ‘Star of Texas ‘ awards for repeal of Trans Texas Corridor Simpson to be honored for work on TSA bills

(Austin, TX – October 15, 2011 ) Saturday, several current and former state representatives will receive awards at TURF’s ‘Stars of Texas’ Honorary luncheon. The event will recognize and celebrate the work of Texas State Rep. Lois Kolkhorst and former State Rep. David Leibowitz to repeal the Trans Texas Corridor (TTC), former State Rep. Jim Dunnam and Bexar County Commissioner Tommy Adkisson’s efforts to keep tolls off existing roadways and stop the sale of Texas roads to private corporations, and Rep. David Simpson’s work to rein-in invasive searches by the TSA that impede our freedom to travel.

For the first time since the 80th legislative session in 2007, all the grassroots groups that formed a coalition to stop the TTC and place a moratorium on public private partnerships (P3s), contracts that sell-off Texas roads to foreign companies, will gather to celebrate their collective victory in finally achieving the complete repeal of the Trans Texas Corridor from state statute (Kolkhorst’s HB 1201 was signed into law June 17, 2011).

‘Stars of Texas’ Honorary Luncheon
Hosted by Texans Uniting for Reform and Freedom
Saturday, October 15, 2011
1:00 – 3:30 PM
AT&T Executive Education & Conference Center
Rm 301
1900 University Avenue
Austin, TX

Welcome – Terri Hall, Founder, Texans Uniting for Reform and Freedom
Invocation – The Honorable Nathan Macias, Former Texas State Representative
Lunch served
Recognition of grassroots leaders (approximately, 1:30 – 2:15 PM)
Recognition of elected officials (approximately, 2:15 PM – 3:15 PM)
Closing Remarks
Special video montage highlighting 6 years of the struggle to repeal the TTC/P3s- Prepared by William Molina, Storm Pictures (3:15 PM – 3:30 PM)

The ‘Stars of Texas’ Honorees:

Texas State Representative Lois Kolkhorst, Brenham
Former Texas State Representative David Leibowitz, San Antonio
Former Texas State Representative Jim Dunnam, Waco
Texas State Representative David Simpson, Longview
Bexar County Commissioner Tommy Adkisson, San Antonio

Hank Gilbert, Co-founder of Texans Uniting for Reform and Freedom
David & Linda Stall, Founders, Corridor Watch
William Molina, Filmmaker, Storm Pictures
Ralph & Marcia Snyder, Eastern Central Texas Sub-Regional Planning Commission (ECTSRPC)
(Also accepting awards on behalf of the Honorable Mae Smith, Mayor of Holland, TX, President of ECTSRPC &
Dan & Margaret Byfield, American Stewards of Liberty)
David Van Os, Attorney, Advocate
Melissa Cubria, Texas Public Interest Research Group
Agnes Voges, Blacklands Coalition (Also, accepting an award on behalf of Chris Hammel, Blacklands Coalition)
Trey & Jennifer Duhon, Citizens for a Better Waller County
Linda Curtis, Independent Texans
Martha Estes, Working for Accountable Government
Judith McGeary, Farm & Ranch Freedom Alliance
Don Dixon, Citizen Advocate
Gina Parker Ford, TURF Board Member, Eagle Forum, Advocate

This entry was posted in News Room. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.