Follow us on Twitter     and Facebook       Sign up for Email Updates:

Forward Times Newspaper “50 Years and Beyond, Black Tie Scholarship Gala”

Kick-off & Media Reception To Announce Honorees, Sponsors & Special Highlights

With a history of seamless Forward Times publishing, Karen Carter Richards, CEO & Publisher, assures readers that after 50 years of never missing an issue, she will continue her parents’, Julius and Lenora Carter, 50 year legacy of covering comprehensive African-American news in the Greater Houston Area.

Thursday, January 27, 2011 ▪ 6:00 – 9:00 PM

1300 Victor St. ▪ Freedmen’s Town ▪ Fourth Ward ▪ Houston, TX, 77019 (Bldg entrance, Cleveland St.) ▪ 832-393-1440

The Forward Times Newspaper “50 Years and Beyond, Black Tie Scholarship Gala” Kick-off & Media Reception will reveal the gala’s honorees, sponsors and highlights that will be held on Saturday, March 12, 2011, Hyatt Regency Hotel at 6:30 p.m….which includes:

• Honorees – We will honor local and national individuals who have contributed greatly in the growth and development of our communities since the 1960s.
• Scholarships – The Julius and Lenora Carter Scholarship and Youth Foundation will award ten Journalism and Digital Communications scholarships to students who aspire to excel in our industry.
• In remembrance – In memory, a celebration of Lenora “Doll” Carter’s 70th birthday ( March 12th) along with a memorial candlelight tribute to great leaders who have left inspiring legacies in Houston.

Honorary Chairs
National Newspaper Publishers Association (NNPA) – Danny Bakewell, President
Congresswoman Shelia Jackson Lee
Mr. Peter Brown, Former Houston City Councilman

Texas State Senator Rodney & Licia Ellis

Distinguished Honorees
Ms. Debbie Allen, Actress, Dancer and Multi-talented entertainer, internationally recognized director/choreographer, and a three-time Emmy Award winner
Dr. Lee Patrick Brown, Former Mayor and Police Chief of Houston
Ms. Xernona Clayton, President and CEO of the Trumpet Awards Foundation, Inc., Atlanta, Georgia
Dr. Edith Jones, Internationally renowned Internal Medicine / Gerontologist
Rev. William A. Lawson, Pastor Emeritus of Wheeler Avenue Baptist Church and Founder of WALIPP
Rev. Ray Martin, Founder & CEO, Progressive Amateur Boxing Association
Michael Petrizzo, Executive Vice President, General Manager, and the Major Stockholder of KCOH, Inc.

Scholarship Naming Honorees
National Newspaper Publishers Association – Journalism Excellence Scholarship
Wash Allen – Wash Allen Radio/ TV Broadcast Scholarship
Bud Johnson – Journalism Scholarship
Herbert Provost – Provost Photography Scholarship
Wells Fargo Bank – Photojournalism Scholarship
New York Life – Digital Communications Scholarship

This entry was posted in News Room. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.