Follow us on Twitter     and Facebook       Sign up for Email Updates:


On July 1, 2010 the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church was pleased to announce its election of five new Bishops. One of which is the Paster W. E. Lockett of CME Metropolitan Church in Houston Texas. This great election has taken place at the 36th Quadrennial Session and the 37th General Conference of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church, which is taking place in Mobile, Alabama and ends July 4, 2010. The list of newly elected Bishops is as follows:

    • Bishop James Walker, 56th Bishop
    • Bishop W. E. Lockett, 57th Bishop
    • Bishop Sylvester Williams, 58th Bishop
    • Bishop Teresa Snorton, 59th Bishop
    • Bishop Godwin Umoette, 60th Bishop (indigenous bishop for Africa)

Pastor W.E. Lockett has been a pastor in the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church for over forty years. He has served in the Ninth Episcopal District, the Second Episcopal District, the Fifth Episcopal District, the Seventh Episcopal District, and currently the Eight Episcopal District is his place of service. He has many years of experience in pastoral care, church management, and community development. He has served on the district, region, and connectional levels throughout his career and has foster many successful projects on behalf of the CME church.

The Christian Methodist Episcopal Church, under the leadership of Senior Bishop William H. Graves and its College of Bishops, is a 139-year old historically African American Christian denomination with more than 800,000 members across the United States, and has missions and sister churches in Haiti, Jamaica, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. For additional information about the CME Church, visit .

This entry was posted in News Room. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.